Spiritual Haven: My trip to Umbria Jazz and Assisi

20130723-112705.jpg

20130723-112740.jpg
“He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.”
― St. Francis of Assisi

Why I LUV music? Because of the silent space it creates within my soul. As if it sews a blanket for my mind to rest under while my soul comes alive to expand and reach out!

Umbria Jazz, was topped with an orchestra of 103 and Stefano Bollani breaking out original yet classical flavours like gelato across the repertoire of Bernstein and Gershwin.

I am so inspired to play Umbria Jazz. Period. Not much more to say about that… Other than I am playing Umbria Jazz 2014!!!!!!

And my musical heaven becomes a spiritual one taken to Assisi with my music team:

And into the silent sacred space of a man who called the sun “Fratello Sole”” Brother Sun” and “Sorella Luna” ” Sister Moon” ( underlying all religions is the same truth: We Are One).
As typical, he was initially refuted from the church but his popularity was too strong and so he was later embraced.

The funny thing is, since a child in Vancouver I’ve attended the St.Francis Parish never knowing who this church was named after. I would just see paintings of this monk with birds not understanding the depth and character of a man who found joy and peace in the gentle love of Christ and moreover, found this love in all living creatures, including the animals whom he’d converse with.

I visit his tomb and a powerful energy exudes. Could it be because the thousands and thousands of people who make the pilgrimage each year come with the intention for miracles and gratitude. Or is it more, that the soul of this man is channeled here, readily available to our listening ears and open heart?

“Lord, make me an instrument of thy peace. Where there is hatred, let me sow love.”
― St. Francis of Assisi

As I pray next to a monk I begin to feel a buzzing sensation in my heart. It’s the love of St. Francis saying “all is forgiven” ” in your heart is love”.

I feel a warm vibration becoming louder as if the silence is turning into the sweet music of the nights before in Perugia.

Against the wall in the church, there is an astonishing entire section devoted to Mary Magdalene. I’ve always wondered how besides John, she was the one to stay with Christ until the very end and how did that close relationship form? Maybe a common understanding that the power of God lies deep in the body and it just depends on WHAT you decide to use it for. Was Mary Magdalene inspired from Jesus to take her power and cultivate it for the will of God and create a union between body and spirit?

The communion between the spirit and the body is so powerful that when we begin to open up the channel, from the top of heavens to the bottoms of our baby toes, a river of rushing love becomes available and all we must do is surrender to it and trust it. God is in all things especially … You.

20130723-112059.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

